By: Sarah Stewart Legal Group
Today’s post is a little unusual for us. Prompted by the change in the licensing requirements in recent years, and the number of people we know who will soon have (gasp!) teen drivers, we did a little research with the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) to see what we could find out about Oklahoma’s teen driver’s licensing procedures. These procedures apply to those under the age of 18.
First, if your teen is 15 1/2, he or she can apply for a Learner’s Permit. Those with a Learner’s Permit can drive with a licensed driver over the age of 21 in the car. The teen must hold the Learner’s Permit for 6 months before he or she can graduate to the next level of licensing. To get the permit, the teen must first pass a vision and written exam with DPS. To take their exams, teens will need the following:
(1) 2 forms of government issued ID (birth certificate, social security card, passport, etc.)
(2) Social Security number
(3) Documents showing the teen meets current enrollment or attendance requirements for the school he or she is enrolled in (there are alternative documents listed on www.ok.gov/dps)
(4) Proof of passing the 8th grade reading test (there are alternative documents listed on www.ok.gov/dps)
(5) The teen’s parent or guardian
(6) If the teen is under the age of 16, proof of completion of or enrollment in a driver’s education course or the form for parent instructed driver’s education
(7) If the teen has had a name change, documents showing this name change
For those who have held their Learner’s Permit for at least 6 months, the next level of licensing is the Intermediate license. This license allows teens to drive between the hours of 5 a.m. and 10 p.m. only (unless for school, church, or work) without supervision, or at anytime with a licensed driver over the age of 21. Drivers are limited to 1 passenger other than those living in the household with them, or licensed drivers over the age of 21.
To get this license, the teen must have 50 hours drive time, 10 during the night, with a driver who has been licensed for at least 2 years and is over the age of 21. The teen must not have any traffic citations from the last 6 months (while holding the Learner’s Permit), and must pass a physical driving test. Once the teen has held the Intermediate License for 6 months, he or she can receive the unrestricted license.
The teen must have held an Intermediate License for 6 months to qualify for the Unrestricted License. The teen cannot get any traffic citations in those 6 months to get his or her Unrestricted License. As the name suggests, an Unrestricted License allows the teen driver to drive without restriction, other than our traffic laws, of course.
Having a teen driver in the family is a scary experience. I hope our tutorial can make the process a little easier for you, your teen, and the rest of your family. Please drive safely!